2008-09 Panini Set of 270

2008-09 Panini Set of 270 (loose stickers)

4 Key Rookie (RC) Stickers

Evgeni Malkin, Carey Price, Claude Giroux, and Steven Stamkos

Sticker History

The 2008-2009 NHL Panini stickers collection was marketed mainly in North America. Panini released the product a few months into the 2008-09 NHL season with pictures of players in their current 2008-09 uniforms, which included newly drafted players like Steven Stamkos. The North America distributor was now Prince Wholesalers (princewholesalers.com). They just sold the product, you had to order missing stickers directly from www.paninigroup.com. This set of 270 stickers were more "card size" than the stickers that came before them in 2006-07. This set is jam packed with rookies as there was no Panini NHL set made in 2007. I do have albums, boxes, singles and sets from this series. The singles most difficult to keep in stock are Evgeni Malkin, Sidney Crosby, Carey Price, Mike Richards and David Booth.

Sticker Facts

The size of each full sticker is 8 cm X 6 cm (3.45 in X 2.4 in). There were 50 packages in each wax box which originally retailed for \$.89 a pack. Each package contained 5 stickers. The minimum number of packages needed to make a full set (assuming absolutely no doubles) is 54. The original album (\$2.49 USD) cover featured Jose Theodore, Jarome Iginla,

Alexander Ovechkin, Tomas Kaberle, Vincent Lecavalier and Zdeno Chara. The Stanley Cup winners were the Detroit Red Wings with Henrik Zetterberg winning the Conn Smythe Trophy as playoffs MVP.

Season Facts

This was the 90th NHL season. The NHL debuted their league wide Reebok RBK jerseys that were lighter and more technologically advanced than ever before. 7 teams including Boston, Tampa Bay, Vancouver, Washington, Ottawa, San Jose and Columbus all unveiled new logos to start the season. The Pittsburgh Penguins travelled to Buffalo on January 1st 2008 to play in the first ever NHL regular season outdoor game in the USA. The NHL ensured that all teams will play each other at least once and reduce inter-divisional play in the 2008–09 season, in essence returning to the scheduling structure that existed in 2003–04. All Canadian teams would have at least one home and home regular season game as well. Jeremy Roenick becomes the 40th player in NHL history to score 500 goals on November 10th 2007. On February 26, 2008 the Edmonton Oilers earned their 13th shootout win, the most shootout wins by any team since the inception of the shootout. On March 13, the Detroit Red Wings reached the 100-point mark for the eighth straight season, tying an NHL record set by the Montreal Canadiens from 1975–1982. On March 11, Andrew Cogliano set an NHL record by scoring an overtime winning goal in the third consecutive game. Patrick Kane won the Calder Trophy for Rookie of the Year. Mats Sundin won the Mark Messier Leadership Award in the 2nd year of it's existence.

Expansion Notes

No expansion notes.