2000-01 Panini Set of 212 2000-01 Panini Set of 212 (loose stickers)

4 Key Rookie (RC) Stickers

Manny Fernandez, Antti Laaksonen, Mike Johnson, and Krzsytof Oliwa.

Sticker History

The 2000 NHL Panini stickers collection was marketed strictly to the European market. This set was now the smallest Panini NHL sticker set in the past 15 years at only 212 stickers. Panini did not actively market this years NHL stickers to North America. I sourced out 2 or 3 sticker singles of each single from a dealer in Sweden. I have only recently acquired the the last 2 stickers I needed to complete my first set. I have never seen what the packages or boxes look like from this series so I have no information on them. I was able to source out the sticker album from this series. This set is difficult to assemble because it was not sent out to wholesalers in the North American market.

Sticker Facts

The size of each full sticker is 5.4 cm X 7.6 cm (2.13 in X 3 in). Packages are a mystery to me as I have never seen them. If you do have any information about packages from this year, please do send me a message. The original album (\$2.25 USD or (15:- Swedish Kronor) cover featured Mike Modano, Teemu Selanne, Jaromir Jagr, Pavel Bure and Mark Recchi. The 2000 Stanley Cup winners were the New Jersey Devils with Scott Stevens winning the Conn Smythe Trophy as playoffs MVP. The 2001 Stanley Cup winners were the Colorado Avalanche with Patrick Roy (with the Ring in his Hears) winning the Conn Smythe Trophy as playoffs MVP.

Season Facts

The NHL starts a new system where each team plays 25 home and 25 away games using 2 referees. After the Brett Hull "foot in the crease" fiasco in the previous years Stanley Cup Finals, the NHL adopts a "no-harm, no foul" policy with regards to the goalies crease. This was the first time that the NHL would introduce the "guaranteed point" for those teams that were tied after regulation time. Nicklas Lidstrom leads all defensemen with 73 points. Chris Pronger won both the Norris and Hart Trophies as the league's top defenseman and the league MVP. This feat had not been accomplished since Bobby Orr did it in 1972. Goalie Brian Boucher became the first rookie goalie in almost 50 years to play at least 25 games and post a sub-2.00 goals-against-average (1.91 in 35 contests). Rookie Scott Gomez made history by becoming the first Hispanic player in NHL history as well as the recipient of the Calder Trophy for rookie of the year.

For the 2000-01 NHL season, The NHL officially adopts the new 4 officials system for all of it's league games. Ron Francis became the 5th player all time to record at least 1600 points in the NHL. Joe Sakic won his 1st career Hart Trophy as league MVP and 1st ever Lester B. Pearson Award for league MVP as voted on by his peers. Sakic also took home the Lady Byng Trophy as the most sportsmanlike player in the NHL. Evgeni Nabokov won the Calder Trophy for Rookie of the Year.

Expansion Notes

The NHL grows to 28 teams as the Atlanta Thrashers make their debut for the 1999-2000 season. Then the NHL grows to 30 teams by adding (2 teams) the Columbus Blue Jackets and the Minnesota Wild. Both teams make their debut in the 2000-2001 season. The Jackets won 28 games while the Wild won a respectable 25.